Downtown Development Authority

About the Downtown Development Authority


The DDA was established in 1982 and is overseen by the Mayor and a 12 member board appointed by the City Commission. It is the responsibility of the DDA Board to define the downtown district and provide for all other matters within the district.

Focus: Infrastructure & Marketing


The DDA’s main focus is to facilitate economic development for the downtown district.
The DDA engages in building and maintaining:
  • Parking lots
  • Street lighting
  • Traffic signals
  • Parks
  • Other streetscape features
Projects to facilitate economic development in the DDA district are not limited to physical improvements and upkeep. The DDA also engages in marketing activities such as the development of this website, social media accounts, the creation of walking maps and the perennial favorite, Music In the Air Concerts, on Friday evenings during the summer.

Current DDA Board Members


  • Mayor Nick Moroz, CEO  nmoroz@plymouthmi.gov
  • Kerri Pollard, Chairperson, owner Spa Agio  kpollard@plymouthmi.gov
  • Andre Martinelli, Vice Chairperson, resident  amartinelli@plymouthmi.gov
  • Jack Ayoub, owner of Burger Spot and Pizza Spot jayoub@plymouthmi.gov
  • Ellen Elliott, executive director of Friends of the Penn, resident eelliott@plymouthmi.gov
  • Scott Foess, resident  sfoess@plymouthmi.gov
  • Brian Harris, owner Harris Conservatory of Music bharris@plymouthmi.gov
  • Dan Johnson, owner Ironwood Grill and Park Place Gastro Pub  djohnson@plymouthmi.gov
  • Richard Matsu, resident  rmatsu@plymouthmi.gov
  • Patrick O'Neill, owner Legacy Wealth Management  poneill@plymouthmi.gov
  • Shannon Perry, resident  sperry@plymouthmi.gov
If you are interested in serving on this, or any other board, please complete a Volunteer Resume and submit it to the City Manager’s Office.

Meetings


DDA meetings are held on the second Monday of every month at 7 p.m. in the City Commission Chambers at City Hall, 201 S. Main St.

Recent DDA Accomplishments

  • 2021 assisted the City and Wilcox Foundation to bring a new fountain to Kellogg Park
  • 2021 partnership with Tony Roko Art Foundation for the Plymouth Art Walk in strategic walkways in Downtown Plymouth
  • 2020-2021 Shopping and Dining Contests during encourage shopping and dining local during COVID-19 pandemic
  • 2020 DDA Infrastructure Master Plan adopted
  • 2020 Kellogg Park Master Plan developed
  • 2020 partnership with the DIA for a sculpture in the eastern section of Kellogg Park
  • 2018 renovation of the Central Parking Deck
  • 2017 revamp of downtownplymouth.org to a mobile friendly format
  • 2016 reconstruction of the Fleet Street Alley that included award winning recognition from the Michigan Concrete Association
  • Doubled the amount of bike parking downtown in 2016
  • Continued production and coordination of the Friday night "Music in the Air" concert series in Kellogg Park
  • Addition of several dozen businesses in the downtown area to give the city of Plymouth one of the lowest vacancy rates in Michigan
  • Annual coordination with the Salvation Army and local retailers to produce the Main Street Boulevard Tree Lighting and Salvation Army Red Kettle Kick Off
  • Annual Adopt-a-Planter flower box program
  • Continued planning and production of the "Music in the Air" Friday night concert series in Kellogg Park

Future DDA Projects

  • Increased pedestrian safety including more crosswalks and pedestrian crossing signals
  • Kellogg Park improvements
  • Parklet upgrades
  • Improvement of parking lots and alleys
  • Downtown tree replacement program
  • Increase public parking inventory
  • Increase bicycle parking downtown