Downtown Development Authority

About the Downtown Development Authority

The DDA was established in 1982 and is overseen by the Mayor and a 7-12 member board appointed by the City Commission. It is the responsibility of the DDA Board to define the downtown district and provide for all other matters within the district.

Focus: Infrastructure & Marketing

The DDA’s main focus is to facilitate economic development for the downtown district.

The DDA engages in building and maintaining:

  • Parking lots
  • Street lighting
  • Traffic signals
  • Parks
  • Other streetscape features

Projects to facilitate economic development in the DDA district are not limited to physical improvements and upkeep. The DDA also engages in marketing activities such as the development of this website, social media accounts, the creation of walking maps and the perennial favorite, Music In the Air Concerts, on Friday evenings during the summer.

DDA Frequently Asked Questions

DDA Boundary Map


Current DDA Board Members

Suzi Deal
CEO 
City of Plymouth Mayor
sdeal@plymouthmi.gov
Kerri Pollard
Chairperson
Business Owner (Spa Agio)
kpollard@plymouthmi.gov
Ellen Elliott
Resident
(Friends of the Penn Executive Director)
eelliott@plymouthmi.gov
Jennifer Frey
Resident
jfrey@plymouthmi.gov
Brian Harris
Business Owner (Harris Conservatory of Music)
bharris@plymouthmi.gov
Dan Johnson
Business Owner (Ironwood Grill, Park Place Gastro Pub)
djohnson@plymouthmi.gov
Richard Matsu
Resident
rmatsu@plymouthmi.gov
Shannon Perry
Resident
sperry@plymouthmi.gov
Ed Saenz
Resident
esaenz@plymouthmi.gov
Paul Salloum
Property Owner
psalloum@plymouthmi.gov

If you are interested in serving on this, or any other board, please complete a Volunteer Resume and submit it to the City Manager’s Office.

Meetings

DDA meetings are held on the second Monday of every month at 7 p.m. in the City Commission Chambers at City Hall, 201 S. Main St.

Recent DDA Accomplishments

  • 2023 Phase II of the Plymouth Art Walk with partners Tony Roko, the Art Foundation, Community Financial Credit Union
  • 2023 Saturday Scenes street entertainment with partners: Plymouth Community Chamber of Commerce, Plymouth Community Arts Council, LaFontaine Chevrolet of Plymouth, Community Financial Credit Union
  • 2023 Central Parking Deck renovation project
  • 2023 Addition of bike racks at Plymouth City Hall and Kellogg Park with partners Ellen and Joe Elliott
  • 2022 Central Parking Deck stairwell improvement project
  • 2022 Harvey Street intersection upgrades
  • 2021 assisted the City and Wilcox Foundation to bring a new fountain to Kellogg Park
  • 2021 partnership with Tony Roko Art Foundation for the Plymouth Art Walk in strategic walkways in Downtown Plymouth
  • 2020-2021 Shopping and Dining Contests during encourage shopping and dining local during COVID-19 pandemic
  • 2020 DDA Infrastructure Master Plan adopted
  • 2020 Kellogg Park Master Plan developed
  • 2020 partnership with the DIA for a sculpture in the eastern section of Kellogg Park
  • Continued production and coordination of the Friday night "Music in the Air" concert series in Kellogg Park
  • Annual coordination with the Salvation Army and local retailers to produce the Main Street Boulevard Tree Lighting and Salvation Army Red Kettle Kick Off
  • Annual Adopt-a-Planter flower box program

Future DDA Projects

  • New municipal parking lot at Ann Arbor Trail/Deer with EV chargers
  • Increased pedestrian safety including more crosswalks and pedestrian crossing signals
  • Kellogg Park improvements
  • Streetscape improvements
  • Increase public parking inventory
  • Increase bicycle parking downtown

DDA Strategic Plan